Your Government

Mayor

Mr. Johann R. Wallace
jwallace@huachucacityaz.gov

Vice-Mayor

Ms. Donna Johnson
djohnson@huachucacityaz.gov

Councilors

Ms. Joy Banks
jbanks@huachucacityaz.gov

Ms. Cynthia Butterworth
cbutterworth@huachucacityaz.gov

Ms. Debra Trate
dtrate@huachucacityaz.gov

Ms. Christy Hirshberg
chirshberg@huachucacityaz.gov

Mr. Walter Welsch
wwelsch@huachucacityaz.gov

Management Necessity

The Town of Huachuca City is a council-manager form of government. The council-manager form is the most popular structure of government in the United States among municipalities with populations of 2,500 or more. It is one of several ways U.S. municipalities and counties can organize. Under this form, residents elect a governing body— including a chief elected official, such as a mayor or board chairperson—to adopt legislation and set policy. The governing body then hires a manager or administrator with broad executive authority to carry out those policies and oversee the local government’s day-to-day operations.

Although the Town of Huachuca City’s population is less than 2,500; we are in a unique situation where the town greatly benefits from this form of government. Your council is comprised of one Mayor and Six council members, who are elected by the residents within the jurisdictional boundaries of Huachuca City. Elections are strictly non-partisan.

 

Additional Resources